DEPARTMENT OF MISSOURI

SONS OF UNION VETERANS OF THE CIVIL WAR G.A.R. POST PROJECT FORM

PLEASE:

Print Form

- Type or print, using a ballpoint pen, when filling out this form. Legibility is critical.
- Do not guess at the information. An answer of "Unknown" is more helpful.
- Include a photograph of each viewable side and label it with name & direction of view.

- Thank You **Post Information** Post Name | Henry Brun / Clarksburg Post Number 276 State MO City/Town Clarksburg Moniteau County Brief History of the G.A.R. Post (use separate document if necessary): From County History Page 385 1889 History of Cole, Moniteau, Morgan, Benton, Miller, Maries and Osage counties, Missouri **Meeting Facility** Structure Still Exist? **Identify Specific Location: Description of Records** Do the Records Exist? The Records are: Originals Copies Yes No • Unknown What are the conditions of the records? What do the records consist of? **Location of Records Repository Name** City/Town County State Zip Additional Information: **Submitter Information** Submit Date 01/04/2012 Name Walt Busch Camp Name US Grant Camp # |68 City/Town | Arcadia State MO Zip 63621 Email wbusch@suvcwmo.org

Grand Army Post.—Henry Brun Post No. 276, G. A. R., was instituted June 18, 1886, with the following named members: F. M. Yarnell, H. G. Hern, L. J. Bybee, L. W. Barton, H. D. Graves, W. E. Sheriff, V. B. Beam, W. H. Mengel, George Morrison, W. H. Leslie, J. B. Stewart, J. W. Burton, John P. Milligan, W. M. S. Johnston, G. F. Stevenson, J. S. Stinger, A. J. Weatherbee, N. H. Gump, W. M. Larimore, A. D. Hill, John McCamment, L. W. Prine, W. H. Sturgis, J. S. Grazier, J. Nieuffer, A. Felger, D. K. Steele, J. A. Moore, J. M. Williams and J. H. Campbell. The names of those who joined subsequently are Hugh Sappington, W. J. Atkinson, Jacob Hott, Charles Kitchell, Simon Bordwell, F. Spieler, E. D. Wigden, M. Minsterer, G. C. Gwinner, J. L. Bechtel, Joseph Evans, C. G. Ely, W. H. Bynin, G. Delfelder, J. M. Morris, William Rankin, J. W. Moore, C. M. Gordon, W. R. Bishop, W. M. Barnhill, J. H. Hume, J. Inman, R. H. Garretson, August Seyffert, C. P. Bailey, C. Loren, F. Bantrop, F. Gentsch, C. F. Nischwitz, F. H. Fuerst, C. Rohrbach, G. W. Martin, J. Muty, Ira Heald, J. L. Goodwin, Phil. Hess, J. S. Roth, D. H. Hamlin, J. J. Hill, J. Burgi, Sam Sherman, M. B. Wood, D. Stanaway, W. H. Steele, Jacob Born, P. R. Crum, James Steele, D. Luster, J. Kolb, M. P. Bush, J. Stratman, J. E. Bayne, C. E. Hayse, J. M. Cartner, James Cullen, E. Hagemeir, J. K. Larimore, J. M. Baker, H. C. Greer, J. B. Hunt, A. Dick, W. J. Steele, J. E. Sullins, W. Sarman, C. G. Wegener, F. Affalter, W. C. Lloyd (died in 1889), W. C. Meusch, J. B. Thompson, P. Birdsong, C. Barnhart, H. H. Simpson, Sr., and C. F. Stapson. D. K. Steele was commander in 1886, Jacob Hart in 1887, and David Stanaway in 1888-89, while John A. Moore has served as adjutant from the beginning.