

Sons of Union Veterans of The Civil War

Office of the Commander-in-Chief

Ken L. Freshley 4287 Windsor Avenue Willoughby , Ohio 44094

cinc@suvcw.org

General Order #25
SERIES 2013-2014

21 August 2014



Brothers,

This Final General Order for the 2013-1014 administrative year documents the new Camp charter and the awards that were presented at the 2014 National Encampment at Marietta, Georgia.

I would like to thank the Brothers for entrusting me to be your Commander-in-Chief for the past year, it was a great honor and a privilege to serve you all. I would like to especially like to thank Brothers Jim Houston and Jim Crane and the Department of South Carolina & Georgia for the wonderful encampment that was held at Marietta, Georgia.

I look forward to the future National Encampments in Richmond, VA and Springfield, IL.

The following Camp was chartered during the 2013-2014 administrative year, the Commander-in-Chief wishes each of this new Camp the best of luck going forward:

John W. Foster Camp No. 2, Evansville, IN, Department of Indiana

The following awards were presented at the 2014 National Encampment:

Cornelius F. Whitehouse Award – Brother of the Year

Fredric C. Lynch, Department of OH

Abraham Lincoln Award – Camp of the Year

General Wm Carlin Camp 25, Dept of CA

Augustus P. Davis/Conrad Linder Award

(Department with greatest number of new members)

Department of Ohio - 54 new Members

U.S. Grant Cup Award

(Department with highest percentage of gain of new members)

Department of Texas (24%)

Under Forty Award

(Department with the greatest number of new members under age 40)

Department of Ohio (14 new members)

Marshall Hope Award – Most Outstanding Newsletter

Department - The Western Tribune - Dept of CO & WY

Camp - They Will Not Be Forgotten - Col Hecker Camp #443, Dept of IL

Albert Woolson Award

(Most Outstanding Sesquicentennial Signature Event)

Battle of Mine Creek 150th Anniversary Commemoration, Department of Kansas, SUVCW

Horace Greeley Award - Most Outstanding Website

Department - Missouri

Camp – John W. Foster Camp #2, Dept. of Indiana

Meritorious Service Award with Gold Star:

Jerome Kowalski, National Chaplain, Department of Illinois

David Klinepeter, Department of Pennsylvania

James Getty, Department of Pennsylvania

Meritorious Service Award:

Danny E. Krock - Dept of Iowa

Andrew Wheeler - Dept of NY

National Aides

John R. France – Department of NC (3 new members)

Max Speers – Department of NC (3 new members)

David Rish – Department of Ohio (14 new members)

Ronald Marvin – Department of Ohio (6 new members)

Larry Snyder – Department of Ohio (3 new members)

William Smith – Department of Ohio (4 new members)

Jeffrey Graf – Department of WI (3 new members)

Steven F. Coffman, Department of Indiana (5 new members)

Dr. Mary Walker Award - Ladies Appreciation, National Award

Danielle Michaels, Department of WI, ASUVCW

B.F. Stephenson Award – Brother who recruits most new members

David Rish – Department of Ohio (15 new members

Ordered this 21st day of August, 2014.

Ken L. Freshly

Ken L. Freshley Commander-In-Chief Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War Attest:

Alan Russ, Secretary, National Order Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War