Sons of Union Veterans of The Civil War

Office of the Commander-in-Chief

Donald D. Palmer Jr., Commander-in-Chief

147 Lucerne Place

Ballwin, MO 63011

cinc@suvcw.org

General Order #30

SERIES 2011-2012

10 August 2012

- 1. This final General Order for the 2011-2012 administrative year documents additional appointments to support the National Encampment and lists new camps formed this year and the awards to be presented at the National Encampment.
- Brother Eric Graff from the Department of Wisconsin is hereby appointed as National Guide. Brother Tom Helmantoler from the Department of California & Pacific is appointed as National Guard.
- 3. The following new Camps were chartered during the 2011-2012 administrative year. The Commander-in-Chief wishes each of these new Camps the best of luck going forward:

Thomas Fletcher Camp #47, DeSoto, MO – Department of Missouri Gen. E.F. Dutton Camp #49, Sycamore, IL – Department of Illinois Sigel Camp #614, Rolla, MO – Department of Missouri Sgt. Jacob Overturf Camp #4, Broken Arrow, OK – Dept. of Oklahoma Charles Sumner Camp #25, Chestertown, MD – Dept. of the Chesapeake Col. David Stricker Camp #64, Wyoming, DE – Dept. of the Chesapeake Capt. G.N. Spradling Camp #72, Ft. Smith, AR – Department of Missouri

4. The following awards will be presented at the 2012 National Encampment

Lifetime Achievement Award

Elmer "Bud" Atkinson, PCinC - Department of Pennsylvania

Cornelius F. Whitehouse Award – Brother of the Year

Whitney Maxfield – Department of Vermont Walter E. Busch, PDC – Department of Missouri

Abraham Lincoln Award – Camp of the Year

Lt. Cmdr. Edward Lea USN Camp #2, Houston, TX – Department of Texas

Joseph S. Rippey Award - Most Outstanding New Camps

Charles Sumner Camp #25, Chestertown, MD – Department of the Chesapeake Sigel Camp #614, Rolla, MO – Department of Missouri

B.F. Stephenson Award – Brother who recruits most new members

David Rish – Department of Ohio (11 new members)

Augustus P. Davis/Conrad Linder Award (Department with greatest number of new members)

Department of the Chesapeake (51)

U.S. Grant Cup Award

(Department with highest percentage of gain of new members)

Department of Texas (33%)

Under Forty Award

(Department with the greatest number of new members under age 40)

Department of New Jersey (18)

Meritorious Service Award with Gold Star:

Eric B. Peterson, PDC – Department of Georgia & South Carolina Michael Paquette, PDC – Department of the Chesapeake Donald E. Darby, PCinC – Department of Ohio

Marshall Hope Award – Most Outstanding Newsletter Department

"The Buckeye Bugle" – Department of Ohio

Camp

"Camp Orders" – Old Abe Camp #8, Department of Wisconsin

Horace Greeley Award – Most Outstanding Website Department

Department of Michigan

Camp

Governors Elisha Dyer Camp #7, Department of Rhode Island

Albert Woolson Award

(Most Outstanding Sesquicentennial Signature Event)

150th Anniversary – Launching of the USS Monitor Oliver Tilden Camp #26, Department of New York

Scholarship Awards

Lee D. Armbruster – J.L. Chamberlain Camp #20 – Dept. of the Chesapeake Britta A. Musser – Mt. Union Church Camp #502 Auxiliary – Dept. of Pennsylvania

National Aides

David Rish – Department of Ohio – 11 new members

Douglas K. Fidler – Department of Tennessee – 9 new members
Theodore G. Layton – Department of the Chesapeake – 8 new members
John Stolp – Department of California & Pacific – 7 new members
Henry Myers – Department of Ohio – 5 new members
David M. Dziewulski – Department of New York – 4 new members
Michael S. Bennett, PDC – Department of New York – 4 new members

Meritorious Service Award:

Paul Nelson – Department of Michigan Roger Heiple – Department of Florida Neil Hanlon, PDC, Department of the Chesapeake Douglas K. Fidler, PDC – Department of Tennessee

Dr. Mary Walker Award – Ladies Appreciation, National Award
Margaret Atkinson, PNP – Auxiliary to the SUVCW
Janice Corfman, PNP – Ladies of the GAR
Cher Petrovic – Auxiliary to the SUVCW

5. Congratulations to all of the award winners. Their contributions to this Order are invaluable and the Commander-in-Chief extends his sincerest thanks for their efforts.

Ordered this 10th Day of August 2012.

Donald D. Palmer Jr. Commander-In-Chief Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War

Attest:

Eugene Mortorff Secretary, National Order, Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War

Return to Index of General Orders	
KI F	_